Kids' art apps, compared honestly
Five apps for keeping children's artwork, side by side: what they cost, where the art is kept, and what each one does best. We make one of them, so we stuck to facts we could link to.
Checked on
The short answer
If you want someone else to scan the originals and print the book, Artkive does that. If your family mixes iPhone and Android, The Fridge Gallery has both. If price matters most, Artbox is the cheapest yearly plan here. If you want every drawing in your own iCloud, no account, and two homes sharing one gallery, that is what Crayon Years is built for.
Side by side
Prices are shown in the currency of each source: US dollars from the US App Store and Artkive's site, Australian dollars from The Fridge Gallery, euros for Crayon Years. Privacy labels are as each developer reports them on the App Store.
| Crayon Years | Artkive | Keepbox | Artbox | The Fridge Gallery | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Pro €19.99 a year (14 days free), €2.99 a month or €44.99 once | Membership $33 to $143 a year. Mail-in Artkive Box $39, plus a price per piece | $29.99 a year, or $69.99 a year with a printed art book. Weekly and monthly plans too | Artbox+ $8.99 a year, $1.99 a month or $59.99 lifetime ($49.99 Lifetime Family) | Family A$74 a year (A$59 the first year) or A$6.99 a month. Heirloom A$119 a year or A$299 once |
| Free plan | 24 new drawings a year, unlimited children, export forever | Free app. Membership needed after 6 months and 40 images | Free trial, then a subscription | Free app with basic widgets | Up to 10 artworks and 1 child gallery |
| Where the art is kept | Your own iCloud. No company server | Artkive's cloud, also on its website | Not stated on its App Store page. Offers backup to Google Drive | Syncs through iCloud | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Account needed | No. Uses your Apple ID | Yes, an Artkive login | Not stated | Not for the gallery and iCloud sync. An Artbox Cloud account (Sign in with Apple) for some features and book orders | Yes for parents. Grandparents join without one |
| Sharing with family | Co-parents add, edit and keep their own copy in their own iCloud. Grandparents view and react. Part of Pro, invitees never pay | Send digital collections to family | Share artwork with loved ones | iCloud sharing with other Artbox users, with Artbox+ | 2 parent accounts on Family. Grandparent invites are free |
| Limits | Free: 24 new drawings a year. Pro: unlimited | Unlimited cloud storage with a membership | Subscription needed after the trial | Extra photos per project and shared profiles need Artbox+ | Family: 365 new artworks a year, up to 3 children. Heirloom: unlimited |
| Printed books | A print-ready book PDF in Pro, to print wherever you like. No printing service | Yes. Hardcover art books from $75 for 25 pieces, plus framed mosaics | Yes. Keepsake art books, one plan includes one | Yes. Hardcover photo books ordered in the app | Not mentioned on its pricing page |
| Devices | iPhone and iPad, iOS 18 or later | iPhone and iPad (iOS 15.6 or later), Mac with Apple silicon, the web | iPhone, iOS 18 or later | iPhone and iPad (iOS 16.6 or later), Mac, Apple Vision Pro | iPhone and Android |
| Ads and tracking | No ads, no tracking across apps | Privacy label lists data used for third-party advertising | Privacy label lists usage data used to track you | Listing says it contains advertising | Not checked |
Where each one is better
Every app here does something well. This is when we would point a friend to each one.
Artkive
Pick it if you'd rather not do the photos yourself. You post a box of originals, Artkive photographs and edits each piece, and it prints proper hardcover books and framed mosaics. You can also see the art on its website, not only in an app.
Keepbox
Pick it if you want a printed art book included in a yearly plan, with no separate book order to think about.
Artbox
Pick it if price comes first: $8.99 a year is the lowest yearly price here. It also runs on older iPhones (iOS 16.6), on the Mac, and keeps art in iCloud like Crayon Years does. Printed photo books are built in.
The Fridge Gallery
Pick it if your family mixes iPhone and Android. It has apps for both, AI clean-up on every piece and 3D gallery rooms to walk through.
Crayon Years
Pick it if you want the art in your own iCloud with no account, a free plan that starts over every year, and two homes sharing one gallery: co-parents keep their own copy in their own iCloud, so the drawings stay with both of you. Where it falls short: no Android, no website, no printing service, everyone you invite needs an iPhone or iPad, and it launches on 17 November 2026, so there are no ratings yet.
What about Keepy?
We tried to include Keepy. On 21 October 2026 its US App Store page returned "not found" and its website did not load securely, so we couldn't check its current price or features. We left it out rather than guess.
Or no app at all?
Two free options are worth naming. A photo album in the Photos app costs nothing and is already on your phone, but drawings mix in with every other photo and nothing sorts them by child or age. A box in the attic keeps the real paper, but nobody sees it, and a box per child per year adds up fast.
Many families do both: a small box of originals, and photos of everything else. Our guide on how to store kids' art walks through what to keep and how to photograph the rest well.
Sources and how we checked
We read each company's own pricing page or App Store listing and wrote down only what it said. Where a source didn't say something, the table says "Not stated". Prices and features change, so check the source before you buy. If something here is wrong or out of date, email support@crayonyears.com and we'll fix it.
- Artkive membership plans, checked 21 October 2026
- Artkive pricing (box, books, mosaics), checked 21 October 2026
- Artkive help center: app features and platforms, checked 20 October 2026
- Artkive on the US App Store, checked 21 October 2026
- Keepbox on the US App Store, checked 21 October 2026
- Artbox on the US App Store, checked 21 October 2026
- The Fridge Gallery pricing, checked 21 October 2026
Crayon Years facts come from this site: see pricing, sharing with family and privacy.